New officers and new member – Hiscox

Founded in 1934, the Berne Union is celebrating its 75th anniversary in 2009. At the most recent Annual General Meeting the Berne Union welcomed a new member company and elected its executive officers.

New member joins the Berne Union

Hiscox joined the Berne Union as the newest member. Hiscox is a Bermuda-headquartered specialist insurance group with a significant presence in the London market. Through its long-standing experience in political risk and credit insurance, Hiscox will increase the Berne Union’s collective strength.

Secretary-General of the Berne Union, Kimberly Wiehl commented: “We are particularly pleased that a strong player from the London market joins the Berne Union. This is a further testimony to the openness and relevance of our association which combines public and private membership with a unique geographic diversity in the world’s most relevant insurance markets.”

New executive officers

Hidehiro Konno of NEXI (Japan), was re-elected as the President of the Berne Union for a second one year term. Ms Malgorzata Rutkowska of KUKE (Poland) was elected to be Vice President, following the term of John Salinger of AIG (USA).

Lindley Franklin, FCIA (USA) is Chair of the Short Term Committee, with Edvard Stang, GIEK (Norway) as Vice Chair.

Raoul Ascari, SACE (Italy) is Chair of the Medium/Long Term Committee, with Kenneth Tinsley, US EXIMBANK (USA) as Vice Chair.

Rainer Wietstock, PwC (Germany) is Chair of the Investment Insurance Committee, with Joanne Palmer, EDC (Canada) as Vice Chair.

This entry was posted in Press releases. Bookmark the permalink.